Small Business Susan

Step 33 – moving the data

I love how this is deemed to be an “optional task”… yeah you go try to make that optional and see if you get paid for that migration job they hired you to do.  :-)



Here’s the official way that it’s recommended that you do it, I’ve also personally done it using a rshare script from David Overton’s SBS 2008 book.  Remember that many if not nearly all of the things we did to make migrations work in the SBS 2008 era will work with SBS 2011.


If you still have access to the SBS 2008 Installation Migration and Configuration book on page 192 there’s a link there to David Overton’s script bundle that downloads an rshare tool and is a script to inventory the existing shares on the server and move them via a script and robocopy to the new server.  It worked very nicely.



The script will open up a Notepad window with all the shares available on the
SBS 2003 system including those that cannot be migrated, such as printers, policy shares, or tools from SBS 2003 that are not relevant or are already provided with
SBS 2008 such as the fax client. Delete all the shares from the list that you do not
wish to migrate to the new server. This would normally include the following:
SYSVOL
clients
tsclient
tsweb
faxclient
clientapps
NETLOGON
Some file shares are shared with a $ sign at the end to stop them appearing on a network list, while applications and users can still access them. You need to evaluate if these should be moved across. Also, disks are shared as the drive letter followed by a $ sign. You normally do not want to migrate a whole disk, so these would normally also be removed.


In the official docs they also use robocopy.



This is an optional task.


These instructions are for migrating from Windows SBS 2003. If you are migrating from Windows SBS 2011 Standard, see Migrate users’ shared data (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=144392).


To migrate users’ shared data


1.   On the Destination Server, in the Migration Wizard, click Migrate users’ shared data, and then click Next.

2.   Perform the following tasks, as described in this section:

a.   Copy users’ shared folders to the Destination Server

b.   Copy additional shared folders to the Destination Server

c.   Create shares and restore permissions on the Destination Server

3.   When you finish migrating shared data, return to the Migration Wizard on the Destination Server, click Task Complete on the Migrate shared data page, and then click Next.


Copy users’ shared folders to the Destination Server


Copy the users’ shared folders to the Destination Server by using RoboCopy.


Note


Disk quotas are enabled on the Destination Server for the partition where the user’s shared folder is located. If you changed the disk quotas on the Source Server, you must ensure that the disk quotas on the Destination Server match or exceed the disk quotas on the Source Server. For more information about modifying the default quotas for all users, on the Destination Server, click Start, click Help and Support, and then search for “set disk space quotas for all users”.


To copy users’ shared folders


1.   On the Destination Server, click Start, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator.

2.   On the User Account Control page, click Continue.

3.   At the command prompt, type the following:

Robocopy \\<SourceServerName>\Users \\<DestinationServerName>\UserShares /E /COPY:DATSOU /R:10 /LOG:C:\Copyresults.txt

Note

RoboCopy is an alternative to Xcopy, and is a standard feature in Windows Server 7. For more information about RoboCopy, see Robocopy (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=120040).

4.   View C:\Copyresults.txt to verify that the files were copied correctly. You can also compare the number and size of the files that were in the users’ shared folders on the Source Server with the number and size of the files that are now on the Destination Server.


Important


Xcopy and RoboCopy do not support migrating encrypted files.


Copy additional shared folders to the Destination Server


Notes


When you copy additional shared folders, line-of-business application folders, and general user data folders to the Destination Server, you are only copying the folders; you are not sharing them. After you migrate user accounts and groups, you must share the folders and set permissions.


If you are using a logon script to map drives to the shared folders, you must update the script to map to the drives on the Destination Server.


To copy folders to the Destination Server


1.   On the Destination Server, click Start, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator.

2.   On the User Account Control page, click Continue.

3.   At the command prompt, type the following:

robocopy \\<SourceServerName>\<ShareName>\<disk>:\<FolderName> /E /R:10 /COPY:DATSOU /LOG:C:\Copyresults.txt, where <disk>:\<FolderName> is the physical location that you want to copy to your Destination Server.

4.   Repeat step 3 for additional folders that you want to copy to the Destination Server.


Note


If you copy a folder to the same partition as the users’ shared folders, disk quotas will also apply. For more information about modifying the default quotas for all users, on the Destination Server, click Start, click Help and Support, and then search for  “Set disk space quotas for all users”.


Create shares and restore permissions on the Destination Server


Important


Incorrectly editing the registry might severely damage your system. Before making changes to the registry, you should back up any valued data on the computer.


To save only the existing share names and their permissions


1.   On the Source Server that contains the shared folder names and permissions that you want to save, start Regedit.

2.   From the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE sub-tree, go to the following key:

SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Shares

3.   Save or export the registry key.

4.   Type the file name old_registry, and then save on the Source Server.

5.   Leave values for shared folders that you want to migrate and copy to the Destination Server. Delete the others.

6.   Repeat step 5 for

SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Shares\Security

7.   For the shared folders that you copied to a different location on the Destination Server, double-click the value and change the path to the current storage location on the Destination Server.

8.   Save or export the edited registry key.

9.   Type the file name share_registry, and then save the file.

10.  Double-click old_registry to restore to the original registry on the Source Server, and then click Run. Click OK twice.

11.  Copy the share_registry files to the Destination Server.

12.  On the Destination Server, double-click share_registry, and then click Run. Click OK twice.

Caution

This step overrides the shared folders that already exist on the Windows computer with the names and permissions that exist in the file you are restoring. You are warned about this before you restore the key.

13.  Restart the Server service, Netlogon service, and Microsoft Exchange Information Store services.

14.  In the Windows SBS 2011 Standard Console, click Shared Folders, and verify the shared folders and permissions. Only permissions of domain users are migrated.