Security Protection – Harry Waldron (WP) Rotating Header Image

Facebook TimeLine Hoax – Please do me a favor and hover over my name

It is always a good practice to avoid reposting information as instructed in this hoax circulating in Facebook. A security firm called Facecrooks shares this informative link

http://facecrooks.com/Internet-Safety-Privacy/hoax-alert-with-the-new-fb-timeline-on-its-way-hover-over-my-name-above-this-doesnt-work.html

 

HOAX TEXT: “With the new ‘FB timeline’ on its way this week for EVERYONE…please do both of us a favor: Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you’ll see a box that says “Subscribed.” Hover over that, then go to “Comments and Likes” and “Games” and un-click it. That will stop my posts and yours to me from showing up on the side bar(ticker) for everyone to see, but MOST IMPORTANTLY it LIMITS HACKERS from invading our profiles. If you re-post this I will do the same for you. You’ll know I’ve acknowledged you because if you tell me that you’ve done it I’ll ‘like’ it. Thanks”

QUOTE: Sadly, this won’t do anything to protect you from hackers or improve your privacy. A very similar message was circulated when the Facebook ticker was introduced back in September. It caused quite a stir at the time, and it took a day or so for bloggers and social media gurus to get it all sorted out. If you are interested in reading why the message doesn’t work, then we recommend you read this post from our friends at Sophos.

Comments are closed.