Restricting Visibility to CRM Reports

There are five types of report-related access you can control:
  a.. Who can export data to Microsoft Office Excel.
  b.. Who can add, delete, rename, and upload reports, and modify report
properties and default filters.
  c.. Which data each user can see. Because the data in each report is based
on the user’s security role, make sure each user has the correct security
roles assigned.
  d.. Where reports are displayed in Microsoft CRM. By default, all reports
are visible in the Reports area, reports related to a record type are
visible from the area for the record type, and reports that can be run from
a record are available from the record. To reduce the possibility of users
running reports that are not relevant to their jobs, you can remove each
report from the Reports area.
  e.. If the Microsoft CRM 3.0 Report Scheduling Wizard is installed, each
user who creates a snapshot definition can control who has access to
snapshots created with that snapshot definition.
Control who can manage reports   Required security role
      This task requires the System Administrator security role ( A defined
set of access privileges. The security role assigned to a user determines
which tasks the user can perform and which parts of the user interface the
user can view. All users must be assigned at least one security role in
order to access the system. ) .

To manage reports, a user must have the Microsoft CRM Manage Reports
privilege. By default, this privilege is assigned to the Microsoft CRM
System Administrator and System Customizer security roles.

If you have one user who needs Manage Reports privilege, you can create a
new security role with Manage Reports privilege and assign the new security
role to the user. If you have a group of users who share an existing
security role who need Manage Reports privilege, you can assign the
privilege to an existing security role.

       Add the Manage Reports privilege to an existing Microsoft CRM
security role
          1.. In the Navigation Pane, click Settings.
          2.. In the Settings area, click Business Unit Settings, and then
click Security Roles.
          3.. Open the role you want to edit, and then click the Business
Management tab.
          4.. In the Miscellaneous Privileges section, change the Manage
Reports privilege from None Selected   to Organization .
          5.. Click Save or Save and Close.


Removing Visibility to Reports.
If you remote the Display in settings the reports will not display.
The following shows where the display in section is on the Account Summary
Report, you would remove the entries.
http://availabletech.net/images/blog/reportsNoShow.jpg

As for sharing a report. This was an error on my behalf. I was
reffering to sharing Views.


Jeff Loucks
Available Technology
availabletech.net
888-474-2237

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>