Don’t fire people until after you wipe their phones

A very commonly required feature for mobile access to email is remote wipe – the ability to reach out and wipe all corporate data off a mobile device. Exchange ActiveSync supports this feature and has for several versions now. You, as the Exchange or Security administrator can issue a remote wipe command to a compliant device, or the user can do it themselves through Exchange, and the next time the user connects the device will be wiped.


There are two major flaws in that design. One is the well understood "the next time the user connects" part: you cannot reach out to the device and immediately wipe it. The devices do support receiving remote commands through SMS, but for some reason there is no function in Exchange to use that feature to somehow, securely, trigger a remote wipe.


It turns out, however, that there is another, possibly even larger, flaw in the implementation of remote wiping in Exchange ActiveSync. Here is the work flow:


  1. Device connects to Exchange Server
  2. Device transmits DeviceID
  3. Exchange server asks for authentication
  4. Device authenticates
  5. Exchange server checks if a remote wipe command has been issued for the device

Spot the flaw yet? Consider this scenario


  1. Bob failed to sufficiently internalize the sexual harassment training and racks up enough points to get fired
  2. Bob is walked to the door with his shiny personal Windows Phone 7 Smartphone or whatever in his pocket
  3. IT Department is notified that Bob has been terminated and disables/deletes his account
  4. IT Department, following the security policy, issues a remote wipe command to Bob's phone

Pop quiz: What happens to all the company confidential data on Bob's device?


Answer: Nothing! It will stay there for as long as Bob decides it should. Go back and look at the connection workflow again. The Exchange server will only send the remote wipe command to Bob's device after Bob has already authenticated. The IT Department did the absolutely logical thing and disabled Bob's account. Therefore, he will never successfully authenticate again. The way remote wipe is implemented in Exchange ActiveSync means we just lost the ability to wipe our data off Bob's mobile phone.


The alleged solution to this is that you should reverse steps 3 and 4 in your firing process: leave Bob's account active until his device gets wiped. If that makes you just a little queasy you are not alone. In my opinion, this is a major feature miss. Remote wipe in Exchange ActiveSync is only useful when a user loses his or her device, and even then, it is lacking since you cannot reach out to the device and wipe it. Remote wipe in Exchange ActiveSync is utterly useless when people are terminated from their emoloyer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>