Sending Your Surface In For Service

How can you remove your data from a Surface before you send it in for service? If the Surface is running.

http://cdn.makeuseof.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/OverwriteData04.png?79af87

Erase your data:

  1. Swipe in from the right edge of the screen and tap Settings.
  2. Tap or click Change PC settings, tap or click Update and recovery, and then tap or click Recovery.
  3. Under Remove everything and reinstall Windows, tap or click Get started.

Microsoft has a good article: How to prepare your Surface for Service 

What happens to the data on my Surface?

When you send your Surface to our service center, everything on your Surface is erased. Microsoft is not responsible for the loss of data during servicing.

If you still want to erase your data before shipping it, if the machine runs you can use the Surface Data Eraser