Turn On or Off AutoEndTasks at Restart, Shut down, or Sign out of Windows 10

When apps (tasks) do not end (close) automatically when you are restarting, shutting down, or signing out of Windows 10, the system will wait 5 seconds (HungAppTimeout) by default before the End Task dialog appears asking you to cancel or to close the listed apps and restart anyway, shut down anyway, or sign out anyway.

For example, if you have notepad open with unsaved changes when you restart, shut down, or sign out.

If you turn on AutoEndTasks, Windows will instead of the above automatically close any apps and continue to restart, shut down, or sign out of Windows 10 without the End Task dialog.

This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off the AutoEndTasks feature for automatically closing apps preventing restart, shutdown, and sign-out for your account or all users in Windows 10.

Read more…