How to Set Number of Days can Go Back to Previous Version of Windows in Windows 10

When you upgrade to Windows 10 or update to a new version of Windows 10 (ex: Windows Update), a copy of the previous installation is saved to the Windows.old folder in the root directory of the Windows 10 drive as a backup. This backup will allow you to be able to go back to the previous version of Windows for up to a 10 days after upgrading to Windows 10 if you should want to.

Starting with the Windows 10 April 2018 Update v1803, new DISM commands have been added to:

  • Find out how many days after an upgrade that an OS can be uninstalled (go back to the previous version)
  • Initiate an uninstall (go back to the previous version)
  • Remove the ability for a user to uninstall a Windows upgrade (go back to the previous version)
  • Set the number of days that a user has to uninstall a Windows upgrade (go back to the previous version)

This tutorial will show you how to set the number of days after an upgrade you are still able to go back to a previous version of Windows in Windows 10.

Read more…