How to Backup and Restore Network Shares and Permissions in Windows – Windows Blog by Brink

How to Backup and Restore Network Shares and Permissions in Windows

File sharing over a network in Windows 10 allows you to share files and folders on your computer with other users over a private or public network in your workgroup or domain.

You can set the permissions of a shared file or folder to allow groups or users to have a read only, change (modify), or full control access rights.

Starting with Windows 10 version 1803, some features of file sharing over a network have changed, including the removal of HomeGroup. However, even though HomeGroup has been removed, you can still share printers and files by using features that are built into Windows 10.

This tutorial will show you how to backup and restore network shares and permissions in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.

Read more…