When you delete a file or folder in Windows, the item(s) get placed in the Recycle Bin by default until you empty the Recycle Bin to permanently delete them if you didn’t want to restore them.
If you permanently delete a file or folder, the item(s) will bypass the Recycle Bin and be immediately permanently deleted instead.
However, permanently deleting a file or folder doesn’t secure delete them.
Secure Delete will delete and overwrite a file or folder to securely erase any data that exists in the unallocated portions of a disk for the deleted file or folder so it gone forever and cannot be recovered.
If you like, you can add a Secure Delete context menu that will secure erase selected files and folders.
The Secure Delete context menu will perform 3 passes to securely erase the selected file(s) and/or folder(s). If you would prefer to have more passes, then please post a reply in this tutorial requesting it, and I’ll post an updated .reg file for it.
The Secure Delete context menu will not be available when you right click or press and hold on any drive, the C:\Program Files folder, the C:\Program Files (x86) folder, the C:\ProgramData folder, the C:\Users folder, the C:\Windows folder, and the C:\Windows.old folder. This was done by design to prevent deleting these critical Windows system folders by mistake.
You will still be able to use the Secure Delete context menu on files and folders inside the folders above though.
This tutorial will show you how to add Secure Delete to the context menu of files and folders for all users in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.