The Recycle Bin provides a safety net when deleting files or folders. When you delete any of these items from your hard disk, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin and the Recycle Bin icon changes from empty to full.
If you have multiple hard drives, partitions, or an external hard drive connected to your PC, each location will have its own $Recycle.Bin and Recycle Bin settings. Removable drives, such as USB flash drives and memory cards, will not have a Recycle Bin. Files deleted from removable drives are permanently deleted.
When you delete a file or folder in Windows, the item(s) get placed in the Recycle Bin by default until you empty the Recycle Bin to permanently delete them if you didn’t want to restore them.
However, permanently deleting a file or folder doesn’t secure delete them.
Secure Delete will delete and overwrite a file or folder to securely erase any data that exists in the unallocated portions of a disk for the deleted file or folder so it gone forever and cannot be recovered.
If you like, you can add Secure Delete to the Recycle Bin context menu that will secure erase all items (files and folders) in the Recycle Bin deleted from the “C:” drive for the current user.
The Secure Delete context menu will perform 3 passes to securely erase only the items in the Recycle Bin deleted from the “C:” drive for the current user. If you would prefer to have more passes, then please post a reply in this tutorial requesting it, and I’ll post an updated .reg file for it. If you would like to have the Recycle Bin of other drive letters included, then please post a reply in this tutorial requesting it, and I’ll post an updated .reg file for it.
This tutorial will show you how to add Secure Delete to the Recycle Bin context menu for all users in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.