How to Allow or Prevent Users and Groups to Shut down System in Windows 10 – Windows Blog by Brink

How to Allow or Prevent Users and Groups to Shut down System in Windows 10

If you don’t plan to use your PC for a while, then you could shut down (turn off) the PC. A shutdown will close all apps, sign out all users, and completely turn off the PC. Hybrid shutdown performs a shutdown of the computer and prepares it for fast startup.

Each group in Windows has its own default rights and permissions. When a user is a member of a group, the user will be assigned the rights and permissions of the group.

Default Users and Groups Allowed to Shut Down the Computer:

  • On a Local Computer or Workstation (ex: home computer): Administrators, Backup Operators, Users
  • On a Server: Administrators, Backup Operators
  • On Domain: Administrators, Backup Operators, Server Operators, Print Operators

This tutorial will show you how to allow or prevent specific users and groups from being able in Windows 10.

Read more…