Turning onÂ system protectionÂ for a drive allows System Restore to include the drive whenÂ restore pointsÂ are created so you can undo undesired system changes by reverting to a previous point in time.
System RestoreÂ monitors system changes and saves the system state as a restore point. If a system problem develops as a result of a system change, the user can return the system to a previous state using the data from a restore point.
Restore pointsÂ are created to let users select a previous system state. Each restore point contains the required information to restore the system to the selected state. Restore points are created before key changes are made to the system.
System Restore automatically manages the disk space that is allocated for restore points. It purges the oldest restore points to make room for new ones. System Restore allocates space based on the size of the hard disk and the version of Windows that the computer runs, as shown in the following table. You can adjust the maximum disk space per drive used for system protection.
Use System RestoreÂ to make restore points when you install a new app, driver, or Windows update, and when you create a restore point manually. System Restore does not restore user data or documents, so it will not cause users to lose their files, e-mail, browsing history, or favorites. Restoring will remove apps, drivers, and updates installed after the restore point was made. System Restore is also made available to users in theÂ Windows Recovery EnvironmentÂ orÂ safe mode, making it easier for them to restore their computers to a state before problems occurred.
This tutorial will show you how to add or remove aÂ Create Restore PointÂ context menu for all users in Windows 11.