Enable or Disable Send Activity History to Microsoft in Windows 11 – Windows Blog by Brink

Enable or Disable Send Activity History to Microsoft in Windows 11

Activity history helps keep track of the things you do on your device, such as the apps and services you use, the files you open, and the websites you browse. Your activity history is stored locally on your device, and if you’ve signed in to your device with a Microsoft account or work or school account and given your permission, Windows sends your activity history to Microsoft. Microsoft uses the activity history data to provide you with personalized experiences (such as ordering your activities based on duration of use) and relevant suggestions (such as anticipating what your needs might be based on your activity history).

If you turn on the setting to send Microsoft your activity history, Microsoft uses your activity history data to enable cross-device experiences. So even when you switch devices, you will be able to see notifications about your activities and resume them. For example, your activity history can also be sent to Microsoft when using another Windows device. You can continue activities that you started from those other devices on your Windows device.

Microsoft will also use your activity history to improve Microsoft products and services when the setting for sending your activity history to Microsoft is turned on. Microsoft does this by applying machine-learning techniques to better understand how customers in general use their products and services. Microsoft also diagnose where customers encounter errors and then help fix them.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable sending activity history to Microsoft for your account or all users in Windows 11.

Read more…