Guest – Windows Blog by Brink

Guest

How to Create Guest Mode Shortcut for Microsoft Edge Chromium

You can browse the web in Microsoft Edge in normal mode with different profiles, InPrivate browsing mode, and Guest mode.

InPrivate browsing is a private browsing mode in which no browsing history, download history, cookies and site data, and form fill data are remembered. Microsoft Edge saves downloaded files as well as any new favorites created while browsing InPrivate. By default, while browsing InPrivate, Microsoft does not collect any info about websites you visit for product improvement purposes. Your school, workplace, or internet service provider may still be able to see your browsing activity. Browsing data for the specific InPrivate session is cleared after all InPrivate windows are closed.

Guest mode is a temporary instance of a fresh profile. It allows you to browse on another user’s device without modifying the signed-in profile. Browsing data from Guest mode such as favorites, browsing history, passwords, and form fill data does not persist after you close all Guest mode windows. Downloaded files are stored on the device, but the history of the downloads is deleted. Guest mode allows you to browse the web without being signed into other sites automatically. Microsoft Edge does not send websites any info to indicate that the user is browsing in Guest mode. When you use Guest mode, permission to collect diagnostic data about how you use the browser and websites you visit is taken from the profile of Microsoft Edge from which the Guest mode session was launched. All browsing data for the specific Guest mode session is cleared after all Guest windows are closed.

This tutorial will show you how to create a shortcut that directly opens a Guest mode browsing window in the Chromium based Microsoft Edge.

Read more…

How to Enable or Disable Guest Mode in Microsoft Edge Chromium

You can browse the web in Microsoft Edge in normal mode with different profiles, InPrivate browsing mode, and Guest mode.

InPrivate browsing is a private browsing mode in which no browsing history, download history, cookies and site data, and form fill data are remembered. Microsoft Edge saves downloaded files as well as any new favorites created while browsing InPrivate. By default, while browsing InPrivate, Microsoft does not collect any info about websites you visit for product improvement purposes. Your school, workplace, or internet service provider may still be able to see your browsing activity. Browsing data for the specific InPrivate session is cleared after all InPrivate windows are closed.

Guest mode is a temporary instance of a fresh profile. It allows you to browse on another user’s device without modifying the signed-in profile. Browsing data from Guest mode such as favorites, browsing history, passwords, and form fill data does not persist after you close all Guest mode windows. Downloaded files are stored on the device, but the history of the downloads is deleted. Guest mode allows you to browse the web without being signed into other sites automatically. Microsoft Edge does not send websites any info to indicate that the user is browsing in Guest mode. When you use Guest mode, permission to collect diagnostic data about how you use the browser and websites you visit is taken from the profile of Microsoft Edge from which the Guest mode session was launched. All browsing data for the specific Guest mode session is cleared after all Guest windows are closed.

If you like, you can use the BrowserGuestModeEnabled policy to enable or disable the Guest mode feature in Microsoft Edge for all users on the computer.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the Guest mode feature to browse as a guest in the Chromium based Microsoft Edge.

Read more…

How to Browse in Guest Mode in Microsoft Edge Chromium

You can browse the web in Microsoft Edge in normal mode with different profiles, InPrivate mode, and Guest mode.

InPrivate browsing is a private browsing mode in which no browsing history, download history, cookies and site data, and form fill data are remembered. Microsoft Edge saves downloaded files as well as any new favorites created while browsing InPrivate. By default, while browsing InPrivate, Microsoft does not collect any info about websites you visit for product improvement purposes. Your school, workplace, or internet service provider may still be able to see your browsing activity. Browsing data for the specific InPrivate session is cleared after all InPrivate windows are closed.

Guest mode is a temporary instance of a fresh profile. It allows you to browse on another user’s device without modifying the signed-in profile. Browsing data from Guest mode such as favorites, browsing history, passwords, and form fill data does not persist after you close all Guest mode windows. Downloaded files are stored on the device, but the history of the downloads is deleted. Guest mode allows you to browse the web without being signed into other sites automatically. Microsoft Edge does not send websites any info to indicate that the user is browsing in Guest mode. When you use Guest mode, permission to collect diagnostic data about how you use the browser and websites you visit is taken from the profile of Microsoft Edge from which the Guest mode session was launched. All browsing data for the specific Guest mode session is cleared after all Guest windows are closed.

This tutorial will show you how to browse as a guest in the Chromium based Microsoft Edge.

Read more…

How to Create Google Chrome Guest Mode Shortcut in Windows

While browsing in Guest mode in Google Chrome, you won’t see or change any other Chrome profile’s info. When you exit Guest mode, your browsing activity is deleted from the computer.

Guest mode is ideal for:

  • Letting others borrow your computer, or borrowing someone else’s computer.
  • Using a public computer, like one at a library or cafe.

This tutorial will show you how to create a shortcut that will always open Google Chrome in Guest mode in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.

Read more…

How to Enable or Disable Always Force Guest Mode in Google Chrome

While browsing in Guest mode in Google Chrome, you won’t see or change any other Chrome profile’s info. When you exit Guest mode, your browsing activity is deleted from the computer.

Guest mode is ideal for:

  • Letting others borrow your computer, or borrowing someone else’s computer.
  • Using a public computer, like one at a library or cafe.

Starting with Google Chrome 77, a new BrowserGuestModeEnforced policy has been added to Google Chrome. If this policy is set to enabled, Google Chrome will enforce guest sessions and prevents profile logins. Guest logins are Google Chrome profiles where all windows are in incognito mode.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable Google Chrome to always open in and enforce Guest mode for your account or all users in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.

Read more…

How to Open and Close Guest Mode window in Google Chrome

While browsing in Guest mode in Google Chrome, you won’t see or change any other Chrome profile’s info. When you exit Guest mode, your browsing activity is deleted from the computer.

Guest mode is ideal for:

  • Letting others borrow your computer, or borrowing someone else’s computer.
  • Using a public computer, like one at a library or cafe.

This tutorial will show you how to browse as a guest in Google Chrome by opening a Guest mode window.

Read more…