lock – Windows Blog by Brink

lock

Add or Remove Lock in Account Picture Menu on Start Menu in Windows 11

The account picture menu (aka: “user tile menu”) on the Start menu allows you to¬†Change account settings,¬†Lock¬†the computer,¬†Sign out, or¬†switch user.

If you like, you can remove Lock from the account picture menu on the Start menu.

When you¬†lock the computer, it protects the computer from unauthorized use when you need to step away from the PC, and don’t want to¬†sign out¬†or¬†shut down¬†causing everything open to be closed.

When you lock the computer, you will be taken to the lock screen by default to dismiss and sign in when ready to continue where you left off. Other users can still sign in to their accounts from the sign-in screen.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove Lock in the account picture menu on the Start screen for all users in Windows 10 and Windows 11.

Read more…

Turn On or Off Hide Content of Notifications on Lock Screen in Windows 11

Notifications are alerts from apps, system, and other senders.

Windows 11 shows notifications on the lock screen (Win+L), Notification Center (Win+N), and notification banners at the lower-right corner of the screen above the taskbar on the main display.

You can choose to hide content of notifications from apps when on the lock screen for privacy.

This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off hide content when notifications are on the lock screen for your account in Windows 11.

Read more…

Automatically Lock Computer after Inactivity in Windows 11

When you¬†lock the computer, it protects the computer from unauthorized use when you need to step away from the PC, and don’t want to sign out or shut down causing everything open to be closed.

When you lock the computer, you will be taken to the lock screen by default to dismiss and sign in when ready to continue where you left off. Other users can still sign in to their accounts from the sign-in screen.

The Interactive logon: Machine inactivity limit security policy setting allows you to specify an amount in seconds of user inactivity to wait before Windows will automatically lock the computer.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable automatically lock computer after specified seconds of inactivity for all users in Windows 10 and Windows 11.

Read more…

Enable or Disable Lock Computer in Windows 11

When you¬†lock the computer, it protects the computer from unauthorized use when you need to step away from the PC, and don’t want to sign out or shut down causing everything open to be closed.

When you lock the computer, you will be taken to the lock screen by default to dismiss and sign in when ready to continue where you left off. Other users can still sign in to their accounts from the sign-in screen.

If you prefer, you can completely disable the ability to lock the computer using any method forcing users to either sign out or shut down instead. If you disable lock computer, Lock will be removed from the Start menu, Power menus, Ctrl+Alt+Del screen, and Alt+F4 Shut Down Windows locations.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the ability to lock the computer for all users in Windows 10 and Windows 11.

Read more…

Use Find My Device to Remotely Lock your Windows 11 Device

Find My Device¬†is a feature that can help you locate your Windows 11 device if it’s lost or stolen. To use this feature, sign in to your device with a Microsoft account and make sure you’re an administrator on it. This feature works when¬†location services¬†is turned on for your device, even if other users on the device have turned off¬†location settings for their apps. Any time you attempt to¬†locate the device¬†online at Microsoft, users using the device will see a notification in the notification area.

If you have Find My Device turned on, your device will automatically update its location periodically while connected to the Internet.

If needed, you can use Find My Device to remotely lock your Windows device. Remotely locking your Windows device will log out any active users and disable sign in for local users (standard users). Administrators with permissions will still have access, but unauthorized access will be blocked. Your device will be locked and location tracking services will be enabled. It will be required to have an administrator sign in to the remotely locked device first before any standard users are able to sign in.

Once your device is locked, you can reset your password if needed for added security.

This tutorial will show you how to use Find My Device to remotely lock your Windows 10 or Windows 11 device.

Read more…

Add Lock Drive with BitLocker Context Menu in Windows 11

BitLocker Drive Encryption is a data protection feature that integrates with the operating system and addresses the threats of data theft or exposure from lost, stolen, or inappropriately decommissioned drives and computers.

You can use BitLocker to encrypt the operating system drive (Windows drive), fixed data drives (internal hard drives), and removable data drives (external hard drive or USB flash drive).

You can choose how you want to unlock an encrypted data drive: with a password or a smart card. For removable data drives encrypted with BitLocker To Go, you can set the drive to automatically unlock when you sign in to the PC. For fixed data drives, you can also set the drive to automatically unlock when you unlock the PC, if you prefer, as long as the operating system drive is BitLocker-protected.

To lock a fixed data drive encrypted by BitLocker, you could restart the computer unless you set the drive to automatically unlock when you sign in next.

To lock a removable data drive encrypted by BitLocker To Go, you could disconnect the drive or restart the computer unless you set the drive to automatically unlock when you connect the drive or sign in next.

This tutorial will show you how to add Lock Drive to the context menu of all unlocked fixed and removable drives encrypted by BitLocker to lock the drive on demand in Windows 11.

Read more…

Turn On or Off Dynamic Lock to Automatically Lock Windows 11

Locking the computer¬†protects it from unauthorized use when you need to step away from the PC, and don’t want to sign out or shut down causing everything open to be closed.

Windows can use devices that are paired with your PC to help detect when you’re away, and lock your PC shortly after your paired device is out of Bluetooth range. This makes it more difficult for someone to gain access to your device if you step away from your PC and forget to lock it.

Dynamic lock requires using Bluetooth to pair your phone with your Windows 11 PC.

Once they’re paired, take your phone with you when you walk away, and your PC will automatically lock a minute or so after you’re out of Bluetooth range.

This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off Dynamic Lock for your account in Windows 11 to automatically lock the computer when you step away from it.

Read more…

Lock Computer in Windows 11

Locking your PC protects it from unauthorized use when you need to step away from the PC, and don’t want to sign out or shut down causing everything open to be closed.

When you lock the computer, you will be taken to the lock screen by default to dismiss and sign in when ready to continue where you left off. Other users can still sign in to their accounts from the sign-in screen.

This tutorial will show you different ways to lock the computer in Windows 11.

Read more…

Enable or Disable Lock Screen in Windows 11

The lock screen is the screen you see at startup and when you lock (Win+L) the PC. You will need to dismiss the lock screen to to see the sign-in screen and sign in to Windows.

If you prefer, you can disable the lock screen to only see the sign-in screen at startup and when users lock (Win+L) the computer.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the lock screen for all users in Windows 11.

Read more…

How to Remove Lock Computer from Ctrl+Alt+Del Screen in Windows

When you press the Ctrl + Alt + Del keys in Windows, it will open the Ctrl+Alt+Del security screen that provides the Lock computer, Switch user, Sign out, Change a password, and open Task Manager options. You will also have the Network, Ease of access, and Power menu buttons available on this screen.

Locking your PC¬†protects it from unauthorized use when you need to step away from the PC, and don’t want to¬†sign out¬†or¬†shut down.

When you lock the computer, you will be taken to the lock screen by default to unlock and sign in when ready to continue where you left off. Other users can still sign in to their accounts from the sign-in screen.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove the Lock computer option from the Ctrl+Alt+Del screen for all or specific users in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.

Read more…