You can speed up the Windows sign-in process by turning onÂ Use my sign in info to automatically finish setting up after an updateÂ to automatically sign in and set up your PC after an update or restart. Windows will then lock your device to help keep your account and personal info safe.
During a Windows Update, there are user specific processes that must happen for the update to be complete. These processes require the user to be logged in to their device. On the first login after an update has been initiated, users must wait until these user specific processes are complete before they can start using their device.
When Windows Update initiates an automatic reboot, ARSO (Winlogon automatic restart sign-on) extracts the currently logged in user’s derived credentials, persists it to disk, and configures Autologon for the user. Windows Update running as system with TCB privilege will initiate the RPC call to do this.
After the final Windows Update reboot, the user will automatically be logged in via the Autologon mechanism, and the user’s session is rehydrated with the persisted secrets. Additionally, the device is locked to protect the user’s session. The locking will be initiated via Winlogon whereas the credential management is done by the Local Security Authority (LSA). Upon a successful ARSO configuration and login, the saved credentials are immediately deleted from disk.
By automatically logging in and locking the user on the console, Windows Update can complete the user specific processes before the user returns to the device. In this way, the user can immediately start using their device.
This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable automatically sign in and lock last user after an update or restart in Windows 11.
Restarting the computer will sign out all users, shut down the computer, and then automatically reboot the computer.
When shutting down your PC, any open supported apps are registered for application restart. After restart, these apps will re-open automatically when you sign in.
This tutorial will show you different ways on how to restart your local Windows 11 computer.
This tutorial will show you how long it takes Windows 11 to restart and get back to the desktop.
If you chose Enabled in the Sign-in and lock last interactive user automatically after a restart policy, you can configure its settings through the Configure the mode of automatically signing in and locking last interactive user after a restart or cold boot policyâ€‹.
If you chose Disabled in the Sign-in and lock last interactive user automatically after a restart policy, then automatic sign on will not occur and the Configure the mode of automatically signing in and locking last interactive user after a restart or cold boot policy does not need to be configured.
The Configure the mode of automatically signing in and locking last interactive user after a restart or cold boot policy setting controls the configuration under which an automatic restart and sign on and lock occurs after a restart or cold boot.
This tutorial will show you how to configure the mode of automatically signing in and locking last interactive user after a restart or cold boot for all users in Windows 10.
Starting with at least Windows 10 build 18963, you can have Windows automatically save your restartable apps when you sign out, restart the computer, or shut down the computer and restart them after your sign in.
Note: This new Restart apps setting has been separated from the old “Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device and reopen my apps after an update or restart” setting.
This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off automatically restart apps after sign in for your account in Windows 10.
Windows Update keeps Windows 10 updated by downloading and installing the latest updates, drivers, and hotfixes released by Microsoft.
Starting with Windows 10 build 14316, you can now set the time in which you are most active on your device by changing active hours. Active hours lets Windows know when you usually use this device. When a restart is necessary to finish installing an update, Windows won’t automatically restart your device during active hours.
When a restart is scheduled, you can use a custom restart time to temporarily override active hours and schedule a custom time to finish installing the current update(s). When your computer restarts on the scheduled custom time, custom restart time will automatically be turned off, and Windows Update will only restart outside of active hours again. You can also manually turn off custom restart time at anytime if you change your mind.
Starting with Windows 10 build 18282, Windows can automatically adjust active hours for you based on your device activity.
This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off letting Windows automatically adjust active hours for you based on your daily usage to avoid rebooting your Windows 10 PC to finish installing a Windows Update.
You can use the assigned access (Kiosk mode) feature in Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Enterprise, and Windows 10 Education editions to restrict a local standard user account on a PC so that it only has access to a single Universal Windows Platform (UWP) app you select.
When you set up and account with the assigned access feature, the user does not have access to the desktop, Start Menu, or any other part of the PC. The account can only access and use the selected UWP app.
To exit assigned access, press the Ctrl+Alt+Del keys.
Starting with Windows 10 version 1809, Microsoft introduced a simplified assigned access configuration experience in Settings that allows device administrators to easily set up a PC as a kiosk or digital sign. A wizard experience walks you through kiosk setup including creating a kiosk account that will automatically sign in when a device starts.
This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off to not show an error and automatically restart when the device crashes while in kiosk mode in Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Enterprise, or Windows 10 Education.