switch user – Windows Blog by Brink

switch user

Enable or Disable Fast User Switching in Windows 11

When a user signs in to Windows, the system loads their profile. Because each user has a unique user account, this allows multiple users to share a computer. When a user signs in, the desktop settings, files, favorites, and history they see are theirs; they cannot be accessed by other users. When that user signs out, their profile is preserved for the next time that they sign in.

A user does not have to sign out to allow another user to sign in. Instead, it is possible for multiple users to sign in and switch quickly between their open accounts. This feature is referred to as Fast User Switching. Switching to another account does not change the state of the applications that a user is currently running. Suppose, for instance, that one user allows another user to switch to their account while the first user is signed in. When the first user switches back to their account, their applications are running and their network connections are preserved. Therefore, it appears that both users are simultaneously using the computer.

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable the ability to switch user for all users in Windows 11.

Read more…

Switch User in Windows 11

When a user signs in to Windows, the system loads their profile. Because each user has a unique user account, this allows multiple users to share a computer. When a user signs in, the desktop settings, files, favorites, and history they see are theirs; they cannot be accessed by other users. When that user signs out, their profile is preserved for the next time that they sign in.

A user does not have to sign out to allow another user to sign in. Instead, it is possible for multiple users to sign in and switch quickly between their open accounts. This feature is referred to as Fast User Switching. Switching to another account does not change the state of the applications that a user is currently running. Suppose, for instance, that one user allows another user to switch to their account while the first user is signed in. When the first user switches back to their account, their applications are running and their network connections are preserved. Therefore, it appears that both users are simultaneously using the computer.

This tutorial will show you how to switch between users without signing out in Windows 11.

Read more…

How to Switch User in Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) Distro in Windows 10

The Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) is a new Windows 10 feature that enables you to run native Linux command-line tools directly on Windows, alongside your traditional Windows desktop and modern store apps.

When you have Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) enabled, you can install WSL distro apps from the Microsoft Store, and export and import WSL distros.

The first time a newly installed WSL distro runs, a Console window will open, and you’ll be asked to wait for a minute or two for the installation to complete.

Once installation is complete, you will be prompted to create a new user account (and its password).

Creating your Linux user is the first step in setting up a new Linux distribution on WSL. The first user account you create is automatically configured with a few special attributes:

  1. It is your default user — it signs-in automatically on launch.
  2. It is Linux administrator (a member of the sudo group) by default.

Each Linux distribution running on the Windows Subsystem for Linux has its own Linux user accounts and passwords. You will have to configure a Linux user account any time you add a distribution, reinstall, or reset. Linux user accounts are not only independent per distribution, they are also independent from your Windows 10 user account.

If you like, you can switch to a specified user at any time in a WSL distro console.

This tutorial will show you how to switch between users in a Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) distro console in Windows 10.

Read more…