System protection is a feature that allows you to undo unwanted system changes by being able to do a System Restore. System Restore enables users, in the event of a problem, to restore their computers to a previous state (restore point) without losing personal data files.
System Restore is enabled and turned on for the Windows system drive by default in Windows.
System Restore configuration allows you to turn protection on and off for drives, manage disk space usage for restore points, and delete restore points.
If you like, you can disable System Restore configuration to gray out the Configure button in the System Protection tab in System Properties.
This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable System Restore configuration in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.
System protection (if turned on) is a feature that allows you to perform a system restore that takes your PC back to an earlier point in time, called a system restore point. This can be handy if your PC isn’t working well and you recently installed an app, driver, or update.
Each restore point contains the necessary information needed to restore the system to the chosen state. Restore points are automatically generated when you install a new app, driver, or Windows update, and generated when you create a restore point manually. Restoring wonâ€™t affect your personal files in your %UserProfile% folder, but it will remove apps, drivers, and updates installed after the restore point was created.
This tutorial will show you how to see a list of all available system restore points in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.