Coming Up Next

The following topics have been somewhat neglected… I promised to write follow ups to existing posts, but have been unable to so far. Hopefully I will resume them soon, in some cases I already started working on them:

As always, I’m keen to hear from you, so, do drop me a note if you have any questions or suggestions!

Sites Portugueses Sobre Desenvolvimento de Software

Actualizado a 11/05/2017

(Portuguese only, sorry!)

Os seguintes sites sobre desenvolvimento de software, nas suas várias vertentes, são escritos por portugueses, seja em português, seja em inglês. Não se trata de descriminação, mas apenas de divulgar o que é feito por portugueses, onde quer que se encontrem.

Pretende-se que seja uma lista de sites vivos, ou seja, que tenham tido alguma actividade no ano transacto ou no actual. Irei periodicamente verificá-los.

Eventualmente, irei incluir outra informação, por exemplo, principais tecnologias abordadas (ex: Java, .NET, SharePoint, SQL Server, Dynamics, etc).

Se conhecerem outros, se pretenderem corrigir ou complementar alguma informação, ou se não quiserem que o vosso site apareça listado, contactem-me!

Nome URL Autor(es)

Língua

Development With A Dot https://weblogs.asp.net/ricardoperes Ricardo Peres (@rjperes75) Inglês
Broculos http://www.broculos.net Dércia Silva e Nuno Freitas Inglês
My Time Break For SharePoint http://aaclage.blogspot.pt André Lage (@aaclage) Inglês
XptCRM http://www.xptcrm.com Pedro Azevedo (@azevedo_pedro) Português
Mónica’s Blog http://mrodriguesblog.azurewebsites.net Mónica Rodrigues (@monica85rodrig) Português
Adão Feliz http://adaofeliz.com Adão Feliz (@adaofeliz) Inglês
typeof(saramgsilva) http://www.saramgsilva.com/ Sara Silva (@saramgsilva) Inglês
Niko Neugebauer http://www.nikoport.com Niko Neugebauer (@nikoneugebauer) Inglês
André Vala https://andrevala.com André Vala (@atomicvee) Inglês
Bruno Lopes’ Lack of imagination http://blog.brunomlopes.com Bruno Lopes (@brunomlopes) Inglês
Rui Quintino Blog https://rquintino.wordpress.com Rui Quintino (@rquintino) Inglês
Tiago Duarte http://ftduarte.blogspot.pt Tiago Duarte Inglês
Ponto de Partilha http://pontodepartilha.blogspot.pt Pedro Mateus Inglês
Sandro Pereira https://sandroaspbiztalkblog.wordpress.com Sandro Pereira (@sandro_asp) Inglês
Rui Romano Blog https://ruiromanoblog.wordpress.com Rui Romano (@ruiromano) Inglês
UmProgramador.NET http://umprogramador.net Ricardo Santos (@kamoleano) Inglês
Tech Talk PT https://techtalkpt.wordpress.com Ricardo Magalhães Inglês
Stepping stones for crossing technological ponds https://mystepstones.wordpress.com Rui Melo (@ruimelo) Inglês
Demétrio Silva – Especialista SharePoint e SQL Server https://demetriosilva.wordpress.com Demétrio Silva (@demetriosqldba) Português
Rui Machado Blog https://rpmachado.wordpress.com Rui Machado (@ruimachado89) Inglês
Exceptional Code https://exceptionalcode.wordpress.com/ João Angelo (@jmpangelo) Inglês
André de Carvalho http://acarvalho.tiddlyspace.com André Carvalho Inglês
Murilo Miranda http://www.sqlshack.com/author/murilo-miranda Murilo Miranda (@murilocmiranda) Inglês
Pedro’s Tech Mumblings http://build-failed.blogspot.pt Pedro Sousa Inglês
Jorge Moura https://ojmoura.wordpress.com Jorge Moura (@jorge_moura) Inglês
Roberto Cortez http://www.radcortez.com Roberto Cortez (@radcortez) Inglês
Nuno Árias Silva Website http://www.nuno-silva.net Nuno Árias Silva (@nunoariassilva) Inglês
Digital Mind Ignition http://digitalmindignition.com Alexandre Marreiros (@alexmarreiros) Inglês
Visual Basic em Português http://www.jorgepaulino.com Jorge Paulino (@vbtuga) Português
Let’s Exchange http://letsexchange.blogspot.com Nuno Mota (@nfmota) Inglês
João Sousa Blog https://joaoeduardosousa.wordpress.com João Sousa (@joaoedusousa) Inglês
Sérgio Agostinho Dev http://sergioagostinho-dev.blogspot.pt Sérgio Agostinho Inglês
Guilherme Ferreira http://gsferreira.com Guilherme Ferreira (@gsferreira) Inglês
WHERE BLOG = ‘PDRSNTSFRRR’ http://pdrsntsfrrr.com Pedro Ferreira (@pdrsntsfrrr) Português
vsloureiroblog https://vsloureiro.wordpress.com Vitor Loureiro Inglês
pedrolamas.com – Windows Development https://www.pedrolamas.com Pedro Lamas (@pedrolamas) Inglês
ruimarinho.NET http://ruimarinho.net Rui Marinho (@ruiespinho) Inglês
André Varandas http://andrevarandas.com André Varandas (@iamvarandas) Inglês
Rambling about .NET https://nunofilipecosta.wordpress.com Nuno Filipe Costa (@nunofcosta) Inglês
The Blinking Caret http://www.blinkingcaret.com Rui Figueiredo (@ruidfigueiredo) Inglês
Ricardo Fiel https://ricardofiel.com Ricardo Fiel (@theplastictoy) Inglês
Adão, the developer http://adaodeveloper.blogspot.com Pedro Gomes Adão Inglês
Fábio Carvalho https://fcsharepoint.com Fábio Carvalho (@fcsharepoint) Inglês
Nuno Cancelo https://nunocancelo.wordpress.com Nuno Cancelo (@masterzdran) Inglês
Miguel Alho – Ramblings on developing applications http://www.miguelalho.pt Miguel Alho (@mytymyky) Inglês
The Privilege of Making the Wrong Choice http://www.eduardopiairo.com Eduardo Piairo (@edpiairo) Inglês
Tiny Bits https://medium.com/bitmaker-software BitMaker Software (@bitstiny) Inglês
Pedro Félix’s shared memory https://pfelix.wordpress.com Pedro Félix (@pmhsfelix) Inglês
HANDS ON SharePoint http://sharepoint.handsontek.net João Ferreira (@joao12ferreira) Inglês
André’s ramblings on the web https://andreduarte.info André Duarte (@onemanclapping) Inglês
Agile Management Walkthrough https://pedrogustavotorres.wordpress.com Pedro Gustavo Torres (@_pedro_torres) Português
Mr Fields https://vetras.github.io Carlos Campos (@vetraspt) Inglês
My ramblings on Azure http://007fff.blogspot.pt Fernando Madruga (@FMBMadruga) Inglês
Tiago Costa blog http://www.tiagocosta.eu Tiago Costa (@tiagocostapt) Inglês
Lusocoder https://lusocoder.com João Cardoso (@joaocardoso) Inglês
Luís Gonçalves | Sharing interests https://luisfsgoncalves.wordpress.com Luís Gonçalves Inglês
Rui Jarimba https://ruijarimba.wordpress.com Rui Jarimba (@ruijarimba) Inglês
António Lourenço http://antoniolourenco.com António Lourenço (@ciistado) Português

 

Ongoing Series of Posts

So, for your – and my – information, these are the post series currently going on in my blog:

Windows Live Writer Tricks

As many others, I use Windows Live Writer (WLW) as my main tool for blogging. It has aged a bit over the years and sometimes crashes, but I think it is still the best tool around for this purpose. It will only get better if Scott Hanselman (@shanselman) succeeds in releasing it as open source! Winking smile

I would like to share with you some of my favorite tips for getting the best out of it.

  1. Change default style and template:
    Navigate to %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Windows Live\Writer\template and change the files defaultstyle.css and default.htm. New posts will inherit these.
  2. Change IE version used for rendering posts:

    Set the desired Internet Explorer version through the Registry: go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_BROWSER_EMULATION and add key WindowsLiveWriter.exe with a value of (DWORD) 10000 (for IE10) or 11000 (IE11). Now you can preview HTML5 features right on WLW.
  3. Change posts location:
    This is useful if you use several machines and you want to keep all your posts (drafts, published) in the cloud (OneDrive, DropBox, Google Drive, etc). In Registry, go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Live\Writer and add key Posts Directory. The value must be a full path!


  4. Export settings:
    Export all WLW settings by exporting this Registry key (and everything below): HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows Live\Writer\Weblogs.
  5. Clearing cached themes:

    If you run into problems with a site’s theme, clear its local cache. Cached CSS and image files are stored at %AppData%\Windows Live Writer\blogtemplates.


  6. Disabling blog theme:
    If your theme misbehaves, and clearing the local cache doesn’t help, you can disable it in the ribbon:
    image
  7. Use the Windows Live Writer SDK:
    Create plugins for WLW in .NET. Download the SDK here and reference it from %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Windows Live\Writer. There are several examples out there, just check out this one.
  8. Log file:
    The log file and a couple of others are located here: %LOCALAPPDATA%\Windows Live Writer.
  9. Open old posts:
    If you need to open a post that you created a long time ago and it no longer shows in the recent posts list, what to do? Get the WLV Post Download plugin from http://aovestdipaperino.com/pages/wlw-post-download-plugin-instructions.aspx. After you have it, open a blog post in your browser with the WLW protocol. For example, to use it with an Orchard or WordPress blog (MetaWeblog API), use this format: wlw://blog?postid=id, where you first need to find out the post id; with other blogs, use the format: wlw://blog/page.aspx. This will open up WLW with the desired post, and you can now change it and publish it.
  10. Use Blog This for blogging over a web page:
    In Internet Explorer, WLW adds an option for adding a link to the current page in a new blog post. It is called Blog This in Windows Live Writer and is available in the Tools menu:
    image
  11. Use plugins:
    WLW has lots of plugins available on the Internet. My favorites are:
  12. Use the source:
    When you can’t easily format your text the way you want it using the designer (Edit) tab, you can switch to the Source tab and make your changes there. WLW will synchronize the designer.
  13. Post drafts to your blog:
    imageAfter you save the draft, it won’t be visible to the World, you need to use your blog’s management console to actually publish it.
  14. Get to know other WLW options:
    In FileOptions, explore what WLW offers (save auto recovery information, show word count in real time, disable emoticons, remember to add tags, check spelling, etc):

    image