Windows 8 "Refresh Your PC without affecting your file" option deletes your Outlook profile

Windows 8 “Refresh Your PC without affecting your file” option deletes your Outlook profile
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2872888/en-us?sd=rss&spid=14864

After you run the “Refresh Your PC without affecting your files” feature in Microsoft Windows 8 and Windows RT, the Microsoft Outlook profile is deleted, and the data files are deleted or moved.

Note This feature is also known as the Push-Button Reset option.

More Information

In this situation, you must re-create the Outlook profile and then manually import the Outlook Data (.pst) file or files from the following locations:

C:\Users\<Your User Name>\Documents\Outlook Files
C:\Windows.old\Users\<Your User Name>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook

One thought on “Windows 8 "Refresh Your PC without affecting your file" option deletes your Outlook profile

  1. Is it possible to avoid this problem by using ‘recimg’ to replace the default refresh image? Thus the installed outlook profile would be saved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *