Spyware Sucks
“There is no magic fairy dust protecting Macs" – Dai Zovi, author of “The Mac Hacker’s Handbook"

Bigpond phish

March 25th 2012 in Uncategorized

This email is NOT from Bigpond.


Interestingly it seems to have been sent to the @bigpond.com email recipient using a compromised @bigpond.com user account.


The source IP address,, is in India.


If you reply to the email, your email actually goes to webaccountdept@w.cn:


w.cn is registered to Xiamen Yi Network Technology Co., Ltd.

The email that I received is dated 22 February 2012; as at 4 March 2012 they were still being seen.

The same reply to address is also being used for a Lottery Scam email.

Comments are closed.

Thank you to the source – you know who you are adpointroll.com – adsturn.com – adsvirginmobileusa.com – advirginmobileusa.com – advirginmobileusainc.com – best-serving.com – convertro.net – cpmtrack.net ctrtrack-15.com – daviselenserver.com –, d1openx.com – […]

Previous Entry

Just saying…   The only way to get rid of the darned thing is to fire up Task Manager and shut down the HPWUCli.exe process (sigh)

Next Entry