Spyware Sucks
“There is no magic fairy dust protecting Macs" – Dai Zovi, author of “The Mac Hacker’s Handbook"

Scareware makes it way to mobile devices…

June 21st 2012 in Uncategorized



Well, I suppose it had to happen sooner or later


Image source: krebsonsecurity


According to Brian’s article, the advertisement linked to in the overlay image (now gone, apparently) was hosted by mobilevisitor.org – that domain is reported as new, having been created on 6 June 2012, and with its ownership hidden behind WhoisGuard.

There are seven websites at the same IP address:

mobfreebies.com – created 19 June 2012, WhoisGuard protected
mobgifts.org – created 11 June 2012, WhoisGuard protected
mobilevisitor.org – created 5 June 2012, WhoisGuard protected
mobprizes.com – created 27 May 2012, WhoisGuard protected
mobrewards.org – created 7 June 2012, WhoisGuard protected
newnotice.org – created 14 June 2012, WhoisGuard protected
rewardstoday.org – created 9 June 2012, WhoisGuard protected


I would recommend those domains be treated with extreme caution.

Comments are closed.

As you will see, the hyperlinked words “enter this site” do not take you to an Intuit website.

Previous Entry

  Ok, so I checked out the link (only from within an isolated VM, and after checking out what the URL will do using analytical tools – don’t try this at home boys and girls). For what it’s worth, you end up at a survey or prize win page which changes […]

Next Entry