Spyware Sucks
“There is no magic fairy dust protecting Macs" – Dai Zovi, author of “The Mac Hacker’s Handbook"

Fake Sony Prize spam…

October 1st 2012 in Uncategorized

Got this today (phone spam, not email).  It’s actually a good example of what to watch out for…

“You have been chosen to receive a free gift. Go to http:// www .sony.com.au.ircontest.info and enter code **** to claim it and tell us where to ship it”.


  1. Hyperlink broken for safety.
  2. The hyperlink is designed to look like it will take you to “sony.com.au” when in fact it will take you to “ircontest.info”.  If the URL was sony.com.au/ircontest.info it would belong to Sony, but because it is sony.com.au.ircontest.info (a full stop, not a slash) you will end up at a subdomain of ircontest.info, not sony.com.au (clear as mud?)

ICANN Registrar: GoDaddy.com
Created: 25 September 2012

IP: (Panama, Panamaserver.com)

Registration details hidden by Domains By Proxy, LLC.

Shares IP at time of writing with appletesting.info, frcontest.info, frgiveaway.info, grcontest.info, grgiveaway.info, idiotpages.com

Comments are closed.

I’m seeing reports of malvertizements automatically opening PDFs. These PDFs use exploits to try and infect a user’s computer. It’s very important to make sure that if you have Adobe Reader (or other PDF apps) installed on your computer that you make sure that they are properly patched.  I ordinarily commend Secunia PSI as […]

Previous Entry

Here’s a new twist on an old story… as always, if you hover over a hyperlink you can see that the emails are not legitimate.     

Next Entry